Recognizing exceptional achievement and contributions

The Bryan School Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to alumni of any business program at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro who have achieved outstanding success in business. The award recognizes exceptional achievement and significant contribution to the recipient’s profession and to the business community.

Nominate alumni using the form below


Nominees must be alumni (undergraduate or graduate) of a business program of The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Current full-time employees of The University of North Carolina at Greensboro may not be considered for the award. In selecting an award recipient, consideration will be given to nominees from all geographic locations and business professions.


Nominations may be submitted by anyone except the nominee. Nominations are received on a rolling basis. All nominations will be considered active for five years, after which a person must be re-nominated to be considered. Selection of the award recipients will be made by the Dean of the Bryan School based on the recommendation of the Awards Committee. It is the intent that one award will be presented annually; however, the award is not required to be presented in any given year.

Nomination Checklist

  • Completed Nomination Form (required).
  • Two letters of support for the nomination (required). The letters may be from anyone who can attest to the nominee’s qualifications for the award (employers, employees, clients and business associates, other alumni, etc.)
  • Nominee’s current Curriculum Vitae or Resume (suggested)
  • Additional supporting documents, such as newspaper or newsletter articles, websites, etc. (optional).


Any questions concerning the award of the selection process may be directed to the Dean’s Office of the Bryan School of Business and Economics at (336) 334-5338.

Joan Evans, MBA '94 – 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Ms. Joan EvansJoan H. Evans is Executive Vice President of Innovation and Transformation for Cone Health, one of the region’s largest and most comprehensive health networks. In this role, she is the senior executive accountable for the transformation of health care delivery toward a patient-centered, value-based approach at Cone’s 100-location “Network for Exceptional Care”.

Along the path to Cone’s cultural transformation, her teams have won several national awards for best practices and improvements in quality, service and cost.

Joan is also President of South Rim Consulting, LLC, a consulting firm that specializes in executive coaching. She is a frequent speaker to national audiences, a certified executive coach and Six Sigma Green belt, and holds numerous certifications in psychometric testing instruments.

Joan earned her B.S. in Physical Therapy from the Medical College of Virginia and her MBA from the Bryan School at UNCG. She recently completed a post-graduate certificate in the Neuroscience of Leadership from the NeuroLeadership Institute.

Nominate alumni

  • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, Max. file size: 15 MB.
    In no more than two pages, please upload a document detailing the nominee's qualifications for this award.
  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, Max. file size: 15 MB.
      Please upload two (2) references for this nominee.
    • Accepted file types: pdf, doc, docx, Max. file size: 15 MB.
      Upload any additional information here, such as copies of newspaper clippings, letter's of support, etc.
    • I, the nominator of this nominee, warrant the truthfulness of the information provided herein.

    Past recipients:

    Bryan School Distinguished Alumni Award

    Dianne Neal Blixt BS ’81, MBA ’88
    Sue Cole BS ’72, MBA ’77
    Thornton Edwards MSBA ’74
    Joan Evans MBA ’94
    Kirk Galiani BS ʼ87
    Martin Green BS ’84
    Brad Hayes BS ’87
    David S. Jolley MA ’76
    Becky Levin BS ’79
    Andrew Mehalko BS ’87
    Joe Pickett MBA ’72
    Dean Priddy BS ’83, MBA ’86
    Nido Qubein MSBA ’73
    Boyd Rogers MBA ’85
    Edward Rozynski BS ’75, MA ’76
    Gary Smith BS ’81, MBA ’85
    Steve Strader BS ’74, MBA ’76
    Ellen Thrower BS ’75, MBA ’78