Criteria for Award

The winner of the Bryan Staff Excellence Award will be the person who made the most valuable contribution to furthering the mission and goals of the Bryan School of Business and Economics during the year. Some of the criteria that should be considered include:

  • excellent performance of their assigned duties supporting the work of their unit and the Bryan School;
  • high professional standards and dedication to duty;
  • excellence in leadership; and/or
  • innovative or creative thinking and problem-solving

 Notable activities, behavior, and accomplishments can include:

  • high professional standards in carrying out his or her job assignment;
  • going that extra mile to follow through on tasks or projects or solving unusual or difficult problems;
  • suggesting and implementing new or improved processes or procedures to make the operations of the Bryan School or its units more effective, efficient, or useful to the Bryan School community; and/or
  • serving in an informal or formal leadership role in performing his or her assigned duties, encouraging excellence performance or innovative thinking in the workplace
  • serving the Bryan School community by participating in Bryan School committees or contributing to group projects or representing the Bryan School in University, civic, or professional organizations.

All nominations MUST have a letter of support from the immediate supervisor of the nominee.  You are encouraged to provide specific examples of the notable performance of your nominee since this will help the committee understand why you believe this person deserves special recognition.

Staff eligible for the Excellence Award must be full-time SHRA or EHRA staff members employed by the Bryan School of Business and Economics for at least two full years.  Additional years of service elsewhere at UNCG do not apply.  The winner is not eligible to be nominated again for a period of two years.

Past Recipients

  • 2023 – Ashe Peters
  • 2022 – Tyler Wiersma
  • 2021 – Ashley Goble
  • 2020  – Tuisha Fernandes Stack / Jessica Worth Saunders
  • 2019 – Bob Englert
  • 2018 – Pattie Hollinger
  • 2017 – Beth Todd
  • 2016 – Lisa McHenry
  • 2015 – Jeri Miller
  • 2014 – Mikal Reagan
  • 2013 – Connie Uselman
  • 2012 – Gail Honeycutt
  • 2011 – Emily Bebber
  • 2010 – Michelle Boltuc
  • 2009 – Doug Taylor
  • 2008 – Angie Scott
  • 2007 – John Ritchie
  • 2006 – Rodney Ouzts
  • 2005 – Lynn Southard

Form used to nominate Bryan School staff for the staff excellence award.

  • Please provide details of why the person being nominated is deserving of this award.
  • Accepted file types: pdf, docx, doc, Max. file size: 50 MB.
    Please upload a letter of support from the nominee’s supervisor.
Share This