Distinguished Alumni Award

Recognizing exceptional achievement and contributions

The Bryan School Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to alumni of any business program at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro who have achieved outstanding success in business. The award recognizes exceptional achievement and significant contribution to the recipient’s profession and to the business community.


Nominees must be alumni (undergraduate or graduate) of a business program of The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Current full-time employees of The University of North Carolina at Greensboro may not be considered for the award. In selecting an award recipient, consideration will be given to nominees from all geographic locations and business professions.


Nominations may be submitted by anyone except the nominee. Nominations are received on a rolling basis. All nominations will be considered active for five years, after which a person must be re-nominated to be considered. Selection of the award recipients will be made by the Dean of the Bryan School based on the recommendation of the Awards Committee. It is the intent that one award will be presented annually; however, the award is not required to be presented in any given year.

Nomination Checklist

  • Completed Nomination Form (required).
  • Two letters of support for the nomination (required). The letters may be from anyone who can attest to the nominee’s qualifications for the award (employers, employees, clients and business associates, other alumni, etc.)
  • Nominee’s current Curriculum Vitae or Resume (suggested)
  • Additional supporting documents, such as newspaper or newsletter articles, websites, etc. (optional).


Any questions concerning the award of the selection process may be directed to the Dean’s Office of the Bryan School of Business and Economics at (336) 334-5338.

Nominate Alumni

Step 1 of 4

Past Recipients

  • Dianne Neal Blixt BS ’81, MBA ’88
  • Sue Cole BS ’72, MBA ’77
  • Thornton Edwards MSBA ’74
  • Joan Evans MBA ’94
  • Kirk Galiani BS ʼ87
  • Martin Green BS ’84
  • Brad Hayes BS ’87
  • David S. Jolley MA ’76
  • Becky Levin BS ’79
  • Andrew Mehalko BS ’87
  • Joe Pickett MBA ’72
  • Dean Priddy BS ’83, MBA ’86
  • Nido Qubein MSBA ’73
  • Boyd Rogers MBA ’85
  • Edward Rozynski BS ’75, MA ’76
  • Gary Smith BS ’81, MBA ’85
  • Steve Strader BS ’74, MBA ’76
  • Ellen Thrower BS ’75, MBA ’78
Share This